That radio script …

Ages ago I began working on a three-novel series set in seafaring America between 1777 and 1814.  Progress was a bit slow until I decided to transform an early part of it into a radio script for the audio group I work with.

I’d hoped that I could clarify the unfinished novel by working out some story difficulties in the radio format, but I’ve had to make a vast number of changes to accommodate the medium, hardly any of which suit the novel itself.  And it’s more of a picaresque thing now, as the hero doesn’t have much opportunity to chart his own course.

As to the script version, I’ve divided it into five half-hour segments.  At first I fretted about the break points, but by a stroke of good luck all but one of them concludes at a natural cliff-hanger.

Leave a Reply

